Bernard Cornwell, Sharpe’s Honor

It is a perfect plot for Napoleon: stop Wellington’s forces in Spain and destroy Major Richard Sharpe.Major Richard Sharpe awaits the opening shots of the army’s new campaign with grim expectancy. Victory depends on the increasingly fragile alliance between Britain and Spain—an alliance that must be maintained at any cost. Unfortunately, things are about to get complicated for the Sharpe.An unfinished duel, a midnight murder, and the treachery of a beautiful prostitute lead to the imprisonment of Sharpe. The pawn in a plot conceived by his archenemy, Pierre Ducos, Sharpe is condemned to die as an assassin. Caught in a web of political intrigue for which his military experience has left him fatally unprepared, Sharpe becomes a fugitive—a man hunted by both ally and enemy alike.

( Courtesy of Kobo pbk 320 pages )

Bernard Cornwell, Sharpe’s Enemy

Only one man stands between Napoleon’s army and a British defeat—Major Richard Sharpe. A band of renegades led by Sharpe’s vicious mortal enemy, Obadiah Hakeswill, holds a group of British and French women hostage in a strategic mountain pass. Newly promoted, Major Sharpe is given the task of rescuing them. On the other side of the pass, Napoleon’s Grande Armée seeks to smash through and crush the British army in Portugal. Sharpe has only the support of his own company and the new Rocket Troop—the last word in military incompetence—but he cannot afford to contemplate defeat. To surrender or fail would mean the end of the war for the Allied armies. Outnumbered and attacked from two sides, Sharpe must hold his ground or die in the attempt.

( Courtesy of Kobo  pbk  347 pages )

Bernard Cornwell, Sharpe’s Sword

Sharpe’s Sword is a historical novel by Bernard Cornwell and covers the summer campaign of 1812, and the Battle of Salamanca on July 22 1812. Sharpe and his friend Sergeant Harper find themselves in a secret war of spies, while hunting down the sadistic and highly dangerous Colonel Philippe Leroux.

( Courtesy Of pbk 319 pages )

Dark Quartet: The Story of the Brontës, by Lynne Reid Banks

Haworth Parsonage stood on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors like a rock in a tempest.

Inside its cheerless rooms, six delicate children dreamed their wild and shining fantasies, bound together by a mutual passion for literature and for their beloved moors.

Later, when only Charlotte, Emily, Anne and Branwell remained,they were forced by poverty to emerge from the privacy Haworth to earn their living. For the sisters, the experience – sometimes bitter and humiliating – set them free to write their extraordinary novels. For the brother, it meant ruin.

( from the sleeve, pbk 404 pages )